Alaska SAF


Forester of the Year

The purpose of this award is to recognize Alaska SAFers who have contributed to SAF through their activities.  These activities should include work and non-work related contributions to the Society.  Your nomination should include a brief biographical sketch and information about each of the following: 

  1. Promotion of forestry through voluntary service to SAF.

  2. Promotion of forestry through job experience or other non-SAF work.

  3. Education and other professional development.

Item 1 will carry the most weight in evaluating candidates.  Item 2 will carry more weight than Item 3.  Please limit the information requested above to one sheet of 8-1/2" x 11" paper. 

Alaska Field Forester of the Year

This award recognizes Alaska SAFers who commit a majority of their work time to field implementation of forestry practices and have contributed to SAF.

Young Forester of the Year

This award recognizes young Alaska SAFers, 40 years of age or younger, who have contributed to SAF and forestry in Alaska.  The same procedure used in nominating the Forester of the Year should be used for nominating candidates for this award.

Service to Forestry Award

This award is given to non-SAFers who have made significant contributions to forestry in Alaska.

Chapter of the Year Award

This award consists of a plaque containing names of previously selected Chapters that have contributed significantly in the name of the Society.  The plaque is passed to the selected Chapter, following the annual meeting, based on each Chapter's report.



SAF honors those members who have provided outstanding contributions to the Society and to the forestry profession with the title of Fellow.  Nominations are due to SAF National Office by February 28.  Click on the link below for more information.

Presidential Field Forester Award

Practitioners often operate in nearly complete anonymity, yet their actions are one of the most important and visible contributions to the viability and understanding of our profession.  Using presidential prerogative, 11 members - one from each of the eleven SAF districts - will be selected to recieve the award yearly.  Members must forward all nominations to Board Representative by May 15th yearly.  Click on the link below for more information.

Other National Awards

Through national recognition the Society of American Foresters selects recipients in the categories of Forest Science & Technology, Communucations, and Professional Recognition.  Nominations for national awards are due to the national office by February 28th yearly.  Click on the link below for more information.